OR CCB#: 192367
Creativity
Craftmanship
Customer Service
Conservation
CALL: 971-339-0007
Creativity | Craftsmanship | Customer Service | Conservation

Reviews

Cogan & Jerry Smith
June 30, 2019
    

After interviewing those three, Shelter Solutions stood out. The long-term experience of Joe Robertson, his deep knowledge of all the ADU building codes and permit process, made us feel confident of our choice.

It ended up being the best Contractor built experience we've ever had. It was virtually "stress free" by our standards.
We had easy access to information and people when we needed it. We knew what they were doing and when. As we don't live in PDX that really helped us to schedule a visit.

There are always hiccups in building, but Shelter Solutions stayed on course, on time and on budget. They exceeded every expectation.

We could fill pages with all the praise and respect we have for Shelter Solutions Project Manager, Thomas Chavalia. His hands-on approach to our project, his sense of humor, the respect he showed us at every turn, his desire to get the details right for us, made our ADU move-in-ready, with smiles on our faces. That does not happen every day in building.

It feels great to be able to recommend a company who works so hard, and deserves to be your number one choice. No question at all, they for sure will be ours.

Cogan & Jerry Smith

Kemp Shuey
June 20, 2019
    

Joe was the lead contractor on a project to make significant upgrades to Community Action's Hillsboro Family Shelter. The project, which included a full kitchen remodel, a bathroom addition, and a new outbuilding to serve as a food pantry, was funded in large part by the Home Builders Foundation of Portland and that's how Joe got connected to the project. As a nonprofit, we had a tight budget for the project and Joe made sure we landed right on budget. All of the sub-contractors were timely and professional. As a shelter, Joe knew how important it was to minimize our downtime and his team worked hard to finish on time. Joe was fantastic to work with and I'd recommend him for future projects.

Kemp Shuey

Alison McIntosh
June 20, 2019
    

Shelter Solutions built an ADU for us in 2018, and we absolutely highly recommend them. The ADU is gorgeous, it was finished on time and on budget. We can’t say enough good things about Shelter Solutions LLC.

Alison McIntosh

Catherine and Brian Dunn-Ormiston
January 24, 2019
    

Great experience! Owner, Joe, and project manager, Thomas Chavalia, are easy to work with. Thomas managed our ADU with great care and efficiency. Any concerns we had along the way were quickly and respectfully addressed. They were right on target with budget and project time line. If we ever find ourselves in need/want of another ADU, we'll call Shelter Solutions without hesitation. We highly recommend, thank you!

Catherine Dunn & Brian Ormiston

June 2018

Keely Montgomery
January 23, 2019
    

Owner Joe Robertson and Project Manager Thomas Chavalia both made our ADU build experience stress free. These guys have such integrity and are pros through and through. They were excellent communicators surrounding project details through the entire process and were quick to respond to any of our questions or concerns. Also important to note - they were on time (even early) and on budget. I have been project manager on many construction projects and I know what a rare gem these guys are based on past experiences.

I would recommend using Shelter Solutions, LLC for your project without any hesitation.

Keely Montgomery

May 2018

Mark & Valerie Hope
January 23, 2019
    

We are so happy to recommend Shelter Solutions with all stars! The project (two car garage with two bedroom apartment above) progressed with good speed; their team overcame several and silly obstacles involved with permitting; and they staged construction differently than is usual on a short deadline to ensure that our solar could be installed and permitted before the credits expired. We never felt abandoned for periods of time while they attended to other projects as we have with other contractors.

Mark & Valerie Hope

February 2018

Clayton Morgareidge
January 23, 2019
    

Joe and his crew stayed on schedule, were available for questions and willing to make requested changes. The whole process was transparent and convivial.

Clayton Morgareidge

May 2017

shefitz74
March 1, 2018
    
I am forever grateful that my friend and realtor recommended Shelter Solutions to build my ADU.
Throughout the build process, Joe and his team demonstrated integrity and honesty, as well as excellent communication and availability.
I wholeheartedly recommend Shelter Solutions to anyone seeking a builder for their next project!
shefitz74
heiseihessian
February 21, 2018
    
AMAZING company and service! We signed contract in June and by August the backyard was being prepped and by 2weeks before Christmas this 2story 800 sq ft 2-bed 2-bath ADU was move in ready. Very professional organization using Buildertrend for all communications and choice of finishes. The manager always listened to our asks and modified project as needed. Transparency at all stages helped keep ADU within our budget. In-laws provided funds from their house sale and are very happy with their new downsized home next to grandkids. We highly recommend to anyone thinking about ADUs.
heiseihessian
Bill Campbell
February 19, 2018
    
I hired Shelter Solutions to build a detached ADU on my property. I had a set of approved construction plans when I contacted them. They offered suggestions for improvements, provided a wide range of options to choose from for everything from appliances to windows and quickly resolved issues as they came up. Construction completed a month earlier than expected and I am very happy with the results. Joe and his team were great to work with. I highly recommend them.
Bill Campbell
Mark Timby
February 14, 2018
    
Joe and the team at Shelter Solutions built our 500 sq' Accessory Dwelling Unit and we have absolutely no regrets having them as our GC. Joe is an honest and fair person to work with, which is definitely a refreshing thing in his line of business. Shelter Solutions' experience with construction, especially smaller homes, made the decision even easier. We highly recommend them!
Mark Timby
Mary Allison
February 14, 2018
    
We cannot recommend Joe Robertson of Shelter Solutions highly enough. When we started dreaming of building an ADU behind our primary home, we researched extensively to find the best fit to realize our project. We met with many contractors and architects, but Joe Robertson of Shelter Solutions was hands down the most accessible, organized, personable, professional. Neither my husband or I had ever embarked on a project anywhere near this scale, and we required a fair amount of explanation. Joe provided expertise, guidance, skills, and most importantly, patience throughout the entire process of planning and building our “casita”. He and his architect listened carefully to our ideas for our dream house, and returned with plans that completely captured everything we desired down to small sweet details. Every aspect of the permitting process and work coordination was completely taken care of. Joe kept us apprised of activities planned well ahead, and decisions that we needed to stay on top of. We were pleased with the specialty teams that he works with without exception (ie, tile guy, concrete guys, painters) . Joe has clearly spent years developing a cadre of skilled, professional and friendly workers. Our neighbors all commented on how respectful Joe and his team were throughout the whole construction process, which was important to us in our close knit neighborhood.

We have hosted a steady stream of friends and family in the casita, and do short term rentals when the casita is otherwise not in use. Our “casita” receives constant admiration from all who visit. We feel so fortunate that we chose to invest in building the ADU, and as importantly, that we chose Joe to work with. He does such incredible, quality work, creating homes that are unique and truly reflect the families that he is working with, and is a down to earth, all around great guy . We now have a constant revenue source as well as room for all our loved ones to comfortably visit. Best yet, we have our perfectly purple home that we love and that we will be able to happily and safely live in as we get old (er!).

Mary Allison
sarjen
February 14, 2018
    
I hired Joe and his Shelter Solutions team to build an age-in-place ADU for me last year. The professionalism, communication and quality far exceeded my expectations. Joe and his team were so great to work with. His insistence on quality and my satisfaction were obvious at every stage during construction. The project came in on time and on budget.
sarjen
Aaron M
November 15, 2017
    
We interviewed many contractors before hiring Shelter Solutions. We could tell right away that Joe would be easy to work with, fair, and organized. Unlike other contractors, Shelter Solutions specializes in smaller in-fill new construction projects like ADUs and has the system down to a science. Joe worked with us throughout the project and now even has an online scheduling program so you can follow along. We now have our ADU rented and are happy with the results.
Aaron M
Rhia Winehaus
November 14, 2017
    
Joe was an awesome contractor, from beginning to end. He built the house of our dreams. He and his team assisted us in designing our house. He also helped us through a difficult permitting process. Joe hired very skilled subcontractors and seemed to have a good relationship with them all. I hope to work with Shelter Solutions in the future.
Rhia Winehaus
Michele Crim
November 14, 2017
    
Shelter Solutions was great to work with. Our project breezed through the permitting process and we were very happy with final project, as well as the overall process and project management. Shelter Solutions dealt with issues and concerns in a timely manner and quickly resolved everything. They also made great recommendations on changes to our original design that made for a much more livable and enjoyable space. They clearly have tremendous knowledge and expertise related to building tiny homes/accessory dwelling units. The project came in on budget and they provided detailed accounting along the way.
Michele Crim
nicolec_1
November 10, 2017
    
It was a long search for a contractor, but once we met Joe Robertson, the owner of Shelter Solutions, it was a perfect fit. Our project was a duel ADU, in collaboration with our next door neighbor, sharing a common wall on an easement property. Yes, this made things a bit confusing, but Joe was up for the task.
Throughout the process, Joe was consistently supportive of our fluid design changes and helped us achieve our design goals.
There have been hiccups along the way. But, both before and after the completion of the project in November 2016, Joe continues to stand by his work and has immediately addressed our concerns, quickly getting his crew back out to resolve whatever the issue.
Joe is a pleasure to work with and Shelter Solutions is a company I would recommend.
nicolec_1
joikilby
November 9, 2017
    
I can't speak highly enough of Joe at Shelter Solutions. The work completed on my ADU was high quality, on budget, and on time. This was my first construction project. I have heard so many construction project horror stories, and I am so very pleased to say that my experience was top shelf. I would use Joe again in a heartbeat. He is a true professional and he has a very professional hard-working crew. I recommend him 100%.

joikilby
Anna King
November 8, 2017
    
Shelter Solutions built an ADU for me. Joe was especially patient with this house-building newbie, esp during the many changes in design process. He was exceptionally fair about making some adjustments when timing didn't work out as expected. The team worked above expectations, including in making sure subcontractors did high-quality work (and made sure there were follow-ups when the work needed tweaking). I was impressed by the long-term relationships Joe has with vendors and subcontractors--it had a lot to do with why I hired Shelter Solutions (Joe also has great relationships with the city). The ADU came out great! Everyone who has seen it has been very impressed.
Anna King
Sheila Bachand
October 14, 2017
    
Joe was great to work with on my project! He responded quickly to all inquiries before, during and after construction completion. I was impressed from our first meeting when he called 20 minutes before our appointment time to let me know he would be 10 minutes late due to unexpected traffic. I found Joe to be a reliable partner throughout the planning and construction process. He is a professional and takes the time to listen to concerns and work through challenges to achieve a mutually satisfying outcome. I recommend Joe without reservation.
Sheila Bachand
Jacob Brostoff
October 1, 2017
    
Shelter Solutions was great to work with. They stood by their word, worked with us through some problems, and delivered a fantastic project for us. Joe Robertson knows what he is doing and is a pro.They came in under budget and things went as they said they would. Good job, Joe!
Jacob Brostoff
Nicholas Calley
September 4, 2017
    
Joe helped us convert a beaten down garage into an ADU. The whole experience was outstanding and we could not be more pleased with the results. Joe is extremely easy to work with and very responsive. He is a true professional and his work is of the highest caliber. Highly recommend Joe for any project you may have.
Nicholas Calley
Tony Mills
September 1, 2017
    
I worked with Joe Robertson for quite awhile in designing, permitting, and construction of my ADU addition. My project was a little bit different than most ADU builds. We built a Garage/Workshop with the ADU unit on the Second floor. It was attached to my residence as I had limited space because of the Cities strict guidelines for brand new Construction. I was very impressed with Joe's expertise, and was very happy with his Project Manager Mark. Joe was very knowledgeable about all phases of my Construction.
Tony Mills
Webuser
January 25, 2017
    
Shelter Solutions is the best choice for an ADU in Portland.
We worked with Joe and Kurt in the Fall/Winter of 2015 and our project finished early in 2016. Both the building and the process exceeded our expectation. Joe is probably the savviest of anyone in Portland about the design/code/permitting issues that are unique to this kind of building.

Our project was on time, on budget and exactly meets our needs. The unit sits nicely on the property and we get compliments on how good it looks.

The project manager, kept in touch throughout the process and even though he is SUPER busy, I felt like he kept us informed of the schedule and any unexpected issues. Joe kept us current of any change orders that affected our budget.

Joe has a preselected suite of fixtures, materials and finishes that help you get started on the many choices you will find you have to make. I found these choices really well-selected for our use and our budget. The people at his vendor partners are, with one exception, terrifically helpful. You will likely enjoy selecting your flooring, countertops, plumbing, and light fixtures at the places he partners with.

The kitchen was the trickiest part for us. We had a sleek-Euro style kitchen in mind, but our budget wouldn't stretch for the sexy Euro appliances. The small size GE fridge and dishwasher are great, but the stove and cabinets aren't as wonderful as all the other stuff here. My advice, take your time figuring out the cabinets, each inch makes a difference in an ADU.

Another choice we made that was worth every penny was the upgrade 4-panel sliding door from Milgard. The four panel slider has the good looks of a french door, but there's no door swing to take up interior or exterior space. The door was a substantial addition to our budget, but it really makes a huge difference (maybe more than any other aspect) to how the space feels.

In summary, you can't make a better choice than to work with Shelter Solutions on your Portland ADU.

Dan Drazba
January 25, 2017
    
Joe is a professional and knowledgable builder, and I couldn't of had as successful as a building project without him. He listens, is attentive to detail, and has an amazing team of specialists to get the job done. After interviewing several builders for my project, Joe was the one that stood out as an honest individual who has his client's best interests at heart. My experience from start to finish was positive -- my project was on time, on budget, and exceeded expectations. Thanks Joe and Shelter Solutions!
Dan Drazba
Scott Bryant
January 25, 2017
    
Shelter Solutions did an excellent job for us. The project came in on schedule and on budget. Joe knows how to work within the Portland rules and regulations to maximize what you can get out of your space. I've already sent a few people their way, and I'll continue to do so.
Scott Bryant
Ed Medak
January 25, 2017
    
I employed Joe to design and build an ADU for me on a property I have owned for many years. His insight and experience were extremely helpful to help me achieve my goal. He was easy to work with and I felt the communication throughout the process was very good. I would highly recommend Joe.
Ed Medak
Rich Zeidman
March 7, 2016
    

Shelter Solutions is a small Portland area General Contractor. They are very strong on service/responsiveness, experience, communication and overall delivering a lot of value in comparison to other contractors I surveyed. They built for me a high quality and very challenging ADU 2BR home, including Earth Advantage program requirements. This was a very challenging, high end project and Joe and Kurt worked tirelessly and patiently with me through every stage to meet my expectations (not to mention numerous design changes). The result is a project that we're all quite proud of.

Rich Zeidman

Chris Beard
December 22, 2015
    

Joe of Shelter Solutions was absolutely top notch. I had dreamed of building my ADU for a long time and when the opportunity presented itself to make that dream a reality, I did my research on who to hire to complete the project. Joe came recommended by friends and got high marks from anyone I spoke to about his projects. My garage to ADU conversion project was a smooth project that ran on time and on budget. I appreciated the personal attention from both Joe and his project manager Kurt. They were on the job site most days and were flexible in working with my requests. I made some alterations in the ADU as the build proceeded and they adjusted accordingly .My ADU is gorgeous and everyone who see's it is impressed with the level of craftsmanship that it displays.

Maureen Veatch
December 22, 2015
    

When my 89-year-old Dad decided he wanted to live with me, we decided to turn my 2.5-car garage into an apartment for him. At first search on Google I found Shelter Solutions and liked that the company experience noted "Aging in Place" conversions and building small homes for seniors near or attached to their adult childrens' homes. Once I met the owner Joe, I felt I was in professional, caring, competent hands. The job cost what he said it would, started when he said it would, and finished when he said it would. The team of professionals he uses have worked with him for a long time and everyone worked very well together. If there was something I wanted changed, Joe was always receptive. He always responded to me right away throughout the complete project when questions arose. This kind of project always brings about additional life stressors and I feel very lucky that I had Joe's professionalism and kindness overseeing it all.

Marguerite Aichele
December 22, 2015
    

We hired Shelter Solutions/Joe Robertson to build an ADU adjacent to our house. We got the name from our neighbor who also built an ADU. Her report was glowing. In fact she and her husband hired Joe for the job after meeting him deciding that they did not need to interview anyone else. We secured three bids first, though. Shelter Solutions/Joe Robertson came in with the lowest bid which was great because we also liked him the best among those we interviewed. I cannot say enough about the level of integrity and professionalism from start to finish. Everything was done exactly as promised and was done right. If a subcontractor did something that didn't meet our expectations, Joe (or his project manager, Kurt) would take care of it right away, no questions asked. They expect everything to be done right and to the customer's satisfaction. I have told both Joe and Kurt that I did not know that the level of service and commitment to both customer and product existed in the industry. They offer what I call small town service. Above all, they are committed to the relationship with the customer. As a result of both the respect and care that they showed us as customers, they have earned our trust and our business. When or if we need a contractor in the future, we like our neighbors who referred him, will look no further. Because of our gratitude for how positive the entire experience was, enjoyable even, we are happy to show our project to perspective clients in the hopes that they will hire Shelter Solutions too.

Satish Viswanatham
December 22, 2015
    

Joe and his team have been god-sent. Without them, we could not have built such a lovely and comfortable guest house. They were perfect in planning, construction, securing materials and throughout the design and build process. Everything within their control went according to plan; in fact, at times, they were faster than what we could keep up with. They secured an eco-rating (earth advantage) without us even asking for it. They took care of a lot of details –more than we probably even know, and did not charge us for every little thing. Our custom-built cabinets turned out to be lovely, and they provided beautiful trims on everything. We did not need to ask for many things. And they have even responded quickly to post-move in items as well, as minor things have come up. We would hire Joe and his team again in a heartbeat. Simply the best!

Katrina Webb
December 22, 2015
    

Joe Robertson and Shelter Solutions did a great job on my ADU. I interviewed 8 contractors and Joe was the last, I'm glad I waited. Joe is obviously experienced but what I liked was he seemed grounded, had great eye to eye contact and I really appreciated that he has worked with his subs for at least a decade and in most cases much longer. He seems to take his relationships seriously and that is a good sign of integrity to me. I think there will always be surprises and construction often costs more and takes longer than planned but Joe and Kurt kept me fully informed, long distance, and the end project is nicer than expected. That said, Joe's bid came in on budget but there were extra requirements from the city. This is a rental for me and the property rented for top dollar in less than a week. I highly recommend Joe!

Jeanne Christen
December 22, 2015
    

Joe had built an ADU for our friends in Sellwood so came highly recommended. He is a gifted architect, incredibly detailed in all aspects of managing the project, and we had the same positive experience working with him. His design tied in perfectly with the neighboring homes and he superseded our expectations with the overall project result. I highly recommend Joe and cannot say enough good things about our experience working with him. Best of luck with your project.

Nathan Verhoeven
December 22, 2015
    

I used Shelter Solutions LLC build my ADU. Joe Robertson (Shelter Solutions LLC's owner) is a master builder with over a decade of experience under his belt. He and his sub-contractors are timely, organized, and friendly. My ADU came out beautifully, on time, and under budget. The planning and building processes were collaborative, and Joe worked with me make sure my ideas and concepts for the ADU became a reality. I would recommend Joe and his company Shelter Solutions LLC to anyone looking to build an ADU, custom home, or do a remodel.

James Hager and Michelle Maida
December 22, 2015
    

My wife and I hired Joe and Shelter Solutions after hearing him speak at one of our weekly Real Estate office meetings. They provided all the expertise and skill from planning till the final walk thru that they had promised. With these kinds of projects it is not that problems or issues will not arise but how they are dealt with, Joe and Kurt were always
available, courteous and professional. They made this project a joy for us we are extremely happy with the outcome. We look forward to working with them again in the future.

Ken Anderton
December 22, 2015
    

I had Shelter Solutions design and construct an 800 square foot accessory dwelling unit (ADU) with attached garage. Joe the owner of Shelter Solutions was very patient as I worked through the process of obtaining financing and the starts and stops along the way. Once construction commenced Joe and his team worked with me throughout the process to produce an ADU, which I now call home and I am very proud of. I have verbally recommended him to several of my neighbors and acquaintances and highly recommend his company. If you are contemplating building an ADU Joe is the guy for you!

sanforju
April 5, 2015
    

We hired Joe to build our ADU. He and his team were respectful, detailed and accurate with the estimate. They collaborated with us from design to finish and met all deadlines. Our experience with this building project was very positive. Mark and Julie Sanford

kworkman77
April 5, 2015
    

We were very pleased with the work that Joe/Shelter Solutions did on our home addition. Our project included an addition of a laundry room, storage room, bedroom/bathroom and a bonus room. On top of being extremely experienced, Joe is organized, conscientous and reliable. He stayed on schedule and was always available when we had questions. The work is high quality and blends perfectly with our existing home. We would very highly recommend Shelter Solutions and should we have any future work to do, we will surely hire them again!

transeli
April 5, 2015
    

On time on budget is the start of the complement about Shelter Solution. To top it off Joe Robertson is a great communicator and problem solver. It was a great experience working with him. Looking forward to do another project with him.

Thanks and feel free to contact me for further info.

mpuggarana
April 5, 2015
    

Joe Robertson at Shelter Solutions was the best investment we could have made in choosing a contractor. We wanted to build a small ADU (axilliary dwelling unit, or "granny flat") on our property, knew we had enough land, had some design ideas in mind, but knew little else. Joe took us from beginning to end of the project on time and on budget and with no surprises and without stress. He knew the city permit process inside and out, communicated with us thoroughly at every step of the process and in short helped us to get everthing we wanted within our budget. I would highly recommend him to anyone.

hellosaz_2460
April 5, 2015
    

Shelter Solutions completed our ADU project in a timely fashion. Jo communicates well with the professionals he hires to get the job done, and in turn there is a mutual respect; everyone showed up for work as and when expected and deadlines were always met. There were no hidden surprises with our budget, each stage was well laid out and documented. I would not hesitate to recommend Shelter Solutions, Jo has been in the industry for years and will go above and beyond the call of duty to make sure your expectations are complied with.

kga2013
April 5, 2015
    

Shelter Solutions added a fantastic addition to our 1960's ranch. We went from 1500 to 2400 square ft. We added 2 additional bedrooms and a full bath, living room and laundry room, as well as a wonderful covered patio. The result was a seamless blending of the old house with the new addition. We couldn't be happier.
Joe has an amazing group of contractors that he works with. They are all very reliable, courteous, and perform high quality work. There was constant communication so any questions were answered very quickly and the whole project was finished on time and on budget. We are more than satisfied with the addition and we do not hesitate to recommend Shelter Solutions.

banner01
April 5, 2015
    

We contracted Shelter Solutions to finish an attic creating new two bedrooms and two bathrooms. Shelter Solutions also did other remodeling to the main floor. The contractor worked closely with us to design the project based on our budget. The work was done timely and according to plan. During the project the contractor was very accessible to answer our questions. We were very pleased with the result and we highly recommend this contractor.

mbknoell
April 5, 2015
    

We hired Shelter Solutions to add an extra bedroom/playroom on the second level of our house going out over the garage. Joe was very good at setting expectations and explaining the process. He was accurate with cost and timelines on the project. His communication was excellent. I felt we always knew what was going on (we stayed in the house during the project). When we did have an issue he addressed it immediately and all issues were resolved to our satisfaction.

Matt Gilley
April 5, 2015
    

Joe is a professional, easy to work with, responsive, and has the Accessory-Dwelling Unit building process down to a science.

jlongstreet
April 5, 2015
    

My wife and I hired Joe from Shelter Solutions to build an ADU for my father-in-law. Shelter Solutions was highly recommended by a neighbor that had finished an ADU a year prior. They were very happy with his work and gave us further reassurance. First meeting, Joe came out to our property measured and asked us what we wanted. We had a lot of requests and Joe problem solved them all and communicated very clearly. He returned with two floor plans based on our ideas. We chose what would best facilitate our needs and moved ahead. He explained what he was going to build and what it was going to cost, very straight forward. The schedule and timing of the project was done on time. If we had questions or changes during the build he made them happen. I personally had some very specific needs as far as design and matching the existing house. Joe made it a personal mission to make me and my wife happy and the house was a success. My father-in-law is very comfortable with his new home and so are we. Side note, Our neighbor across the street that looks at our house everyday tells us how beautiful it is all the time. Many, many complements from the rest of the neighborhood as well. I would recommend Shelter Solutions without hesitation.

idontcaretheleastbit
April 5, 2015
    

One year ago Joe Robertson/Shelter Solutions undertook and completed the conversion of my 325sq/ft garage into a residential studio (ADU in PDX terms) with speed, clarity, honesty, accountability, flexibility, frugality, and warranty. He brought great ideas to the proposed project, incorporated the ideas of other involved parties, synthesized all the design and budget priorities into a coherent build plan and executed the contracted job on time and under cost.He handled all the permitting and utilities interfaces needed to make the project viable, and made sure the final product was move-in ready when construction work was complete. I have recommended him to neighbors and friends a dozen times since then and will continue to do so. He brings a totally professional top notch game to your job. If anyone wants further reflection from me regarding his work on my property, feel free to write me at: [email protected]

lwuf
April 5, 2015
    

Joe designed and built a 2 bedroom 1 bath accessory dwelling unit for us. He was exceptionally professional, very experienced and a pleasure to work with. Joe's depth of experience meant that he had excellent advice to share with us, while listening to what we wanted and responding accordingly. Joe's subcontractors were highly skilled, clean and polite. The quality of their work is top notch and we have had no problems with the unit, now 2.5 years old. The project came in on budget and ahead of time.

eddieh1
April 5, 2015
    

We purchased a one level ranch style home and had a vision of what we wanted. Shelter Solutions was able to transform our traditional dated ranch into our updated modern industrial farm house. Of course there are always surprises, however Joe and his team were able to make our vision a reality. I am very impressed with Shelter Solutions subs and the quality of their work, its clear to me they have worked together for many years. If you want an organized, professional experience with your remodel I highly recommend Joe and his company.

hansdoerr
April 5, 2015
    

We engaged Shelter Solutions as our primary contractor for the construction of an ADU with a square footage of 800 square feet. Our dealings with Joe Robertson, principal of Shelter Solutions, were most satisfactory. Joe is a consummate professional who directed and coordinated the building process in its entirety with precision, reliability and courtesy. Budgets and deadlines were met and he was always available for consultation and trouble shooting when needed. He has an impressive stable of sub-contractors built over years of collaboration. He has also built up a smooth working relationship with individuals and agencies responsible for issuing permits making the process appear easy and timely. It was most pleasant to work with him, he took time explaining the process and never appeared ruffled. Since completion, we have received many compliments on how the construction blends with the previous existing building. Above all, we are enjoying our new home with its quality construction. We recommend him without reservation.

lonesomeville
April 5, 2015
    

Working with Joe at Shelter Solutions could not have been a better experience. Joe is everything you could want in a contractor and was here, intimately involved in the project every step of the way. Through every step of our very complicated project, he did what he said he would do when he said he would do it. He could not be more professional. I would and have recommended Shelter Solutions to anyone who is thinking of building.